Poetry, Published

Sentiments at 1 AM

1amPhoto by Cassie Eduardo

I keep finding myself wide awake in my bed
Thinking whether to give in to the urge
Of letting you back into my life.

I still do miss you on some random days,
And I miss the memory of having you
As the reason I get through another day.

I stare at my phone
Thinking whether I should let your memories
Flood my mind again.

I still wish you’re here with me on lonely days,
And I still imagine the ways I could love you
And all the things you would say.

I read the note I wrote you over and over again,
And I still wonder whether it was right
That I turned my back on you
And chose to let go.

(Previously published by Toast and Tea at http://toastandtea.me/ on 14 April 2016)

Leave a Reply

