On Life

You Can’t Break a Promise That Was Never Made

No promises were broken for none was made. There is only a broken heart, a shattered faith in love, in humanity, and in life, and a collapsing relationship (with everything in the world). He never promised he will never hurt me. And so he did; he hurt me in ways I never thought were possible.

I guess I only had myself to blame because I took him not promising anything as a promise itself. He never made a promise because I thought he did not want to disappoint me because he cared about how I would feel. But I was wrong. He never promised anything, not because he cared, but because making one is a trap he did not want to get caught up in.

And now, I had no reasons to be mad at him for I cannot be mad for breaking a promise he never made. I can only be mad at myself for believing in something that never existed. I can only hurt in silence in the most painful way there is.

via Daily Prompt: Promises

5 thoughts on “You Can’t Break a Promise That Was Never Made”

Leave a Reply

