Letters to The Universe

Imaginary Love

IMG_0109
Baluarte de San Diego, Intramuros Manila

What rights have I earned to say I love you?
What great depths have I fallen into, and sacrifices have I made?
What in the world made me believe I do?
It was not I who you shared glasses of wines with
To celebrate your victories;
Nor was I there in your moments of defeat

To let you know you are loved no matter what.
I never saw with my own eyes
How you cried yourself at night
And struggled your way to greatness.

I am nothing but one of the outsiders,
An irrelevant spectator enthralled by you.
How dare I pray to have you by my side?
What rights do I have to long for your touch?
How dare I be selfish and be focused on only what my heart desires?

Somehow I blame life for the witty trick it has played
For letting our paths cross only to have us part.
Had I been given time enough to exist in your world,
To share even just a little crumb of happiness with you,
Fall to so many depths for you,
To feel too many pains for you
I know I can do so much more
And beyond this imaginary love.

17 thoughts on “Imaginary Love”

      1. love is measured in the units of cravings, longings, care, sacrifice and so on…like MKS or SI system….it too has different units for different types….you need not do anything to fall in love….as they say ….you can’t even blame the gravitational force….it just happens….and you realise it through your senses…..

        Liked by 2 people

  1. I remembered my professor in college days when I’m taking an exam.

    He said if you don’t know the answer, just write “love” then I ask him why?

    He replied: Because there is nothing wrong about “love”.

    But then, I did not get the perfect score because that was not the real answer.. 🙂

    The point is love is about learning it by yourself, it start with yourself.

    Love is not just about sacrifices, gifts and etc.

    For me Love is about understanding yourself and your significant other because there is no perfect in this world.

    Just like Ed Sheeran says,

    Loving can hurt, loving can hurt sometimes
    But it’s the only thing that I know
    When it gets hard, you know it can get hard sometimes
    It is the only thing that makes us feel alive.

    hahahahha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

